Taking Stock

The madness surrounding making the girl Beanlets’ dresses has died down. But that doesn’t mean sewing has stopped.

Altogether now

Just like I’d begun yarn de-stashing projects, I’m about to embark on some fabric de-stashing projects, as well. I don’t know what got into me but I thought I’d like to catalog my fabrics. It’s turning out to be not as easy as I’d thought it would be. I’ve been racking my brain trying to find or create a program(yeah, programming? ha!) to inventory my fabrics with photos. Database programs won’t do it, Photo inventory programs don’t really allow the amount/type of detailed description I was planning on. There does seem to be a program out there that is meant for sewing but I’m cheap.

A few friends suggested I just take pics and upload them to Flickr, so for the time being that’s what I’ve done. The last resort would be to cut a piece of each fabric and staple it to an index card but I’m loathe to do any cutting, especially with the small fat quarters. So far I’ve uploaded 59 photos of the stash and many have descriptions of some sort. Nothing too detailed, seeing as I really wanted something that wasn’t online, in case I lost my internet. If you’re really bored you can look here.

I have two large bins where I keep these items and after looking at them, all I can say is “Wow!”. Talk about UFOs. I’ve got a handbag/purse I haven’t finished, fabric for a whole kitchen set I forgot I had, blouse fabrics I bought last year(and patterns too!), and the list goes on.

I’d also been grappling with the desire to get a serger, and some knits to work with but I’ve decided against it. I’ve just got too much stash to deal with as it is. I really can’t justify the expense. Off hand, I’m already looking at some kid belts, a few throw pillows(kiddo’s supposed to be making those, not me), some skirts for the girls and shorts for the boy. I had in my hot little hands some sale patterns on my recent trip to Joann and damn if I didn’t somehow put them down somewhere and forgot to actually buy them. I’d like to trek back out there and see if I can find them again, but with the SI Ferry being on crash mode lately I’m not sure I want to be bothered. I’m sure I can find similar patterns closer to home or even make them myself.

Oh and if anyone in NYC has a functioning overhead projector they don’t want, I’ll be glad to take it off your hands! 😀

Leave a Reply

