If at first you don't succeed, change your mind.

That might not always be the best choice in terms of your personal life, but it works fairly well for crafting..

This
003

was supposed to be used to cover a box I want to store my sewing patterns in. I obviously didn’t measure well enough because the resulting piece of fabric wasn’t going to be big enough to fit around the outside of the box. So I changed my mind and decided to make a little quilt for Cookie. And ended up with this:

004

I often see quilts where those corner sections are a different fabric. As luck would have it, I didn’t go about assembling the border properly and couldn’t be arsed to try and fit squares in the corners. It was just too fiddly. So, I decided to sew up the corners and make a bed for Cookie. I could just stick a piece of fabric on the bottom and stuff it. Right? Wrong. I didn’t take a picture of the ensuing disaster and you can’t make me. But damn if I didn’t want to burn the whole thing. I somehow sewed the bottom with the right side facing the wrong side of the top. Exactly. FAIL!

I was so mad I almost pulled the wheel out and started spinning. Almost. I will have to undo the stitching tomorrow and try again. It hurts too much to think about how I totally jacked that up.

At least I do have a project that did come out right, even if it was after 3 attempts. I’ll spare you and only show you the last one. šŸ˜‰

No-Cash Wallet, take three!

Tada! The No-Cash Wallet from “Bend-The-Rules-Sewing” by Amy Karol. The first iteration was too small and cards wouldn’t fit. The next one, cards would only fit if I didn’t do the surrounding top stitching. Finally I enlarged the template so much, cards will fit with room to spare. And I also added some medium-weight interfacing to thicken/stiffen it up a bit. It’s nowhere near firm as a ‘real’ wallet but it will serve its purpose nicely, holding Biggest Beanlet’s library card and stuff.

Now I know what size to enlarge to, should I decide to make it again.

Well, that’s all for now.

Leave a Reply

