Friday Goodness

Twins.. sort of

Let me start with a little story: Once upon a time, I had a blender/food processor. I never, ever used the processor part. When we moved house, my BIL helped us unpack the kitchen and proceeded to drop and break the glass blender jar. After a while I got another unit, but just the blender part. I kept the processor part thinking it would work on my new blender bottom. And still never used it. Fast forward to today…

I found a recipe on Instructables.com for 1-ingredient ice cream and it calls for a food processor. Actually it does say you can use a blender but the processor is probably the better gadget for this. I decided to try it, only to find out the processor part DOESN’T really fit on the blender bottom. (It did but I didn’t realize I absolutely NEEDED the feed-top for the blade to spin and I thought it didn’t spin because the base wasn’t the one that came with the processor attachment)

I dug through the cabinets and found the base to the old unit. Yay! I was finally ready to begin.

Gonna do the chop!

I followed the instructions and was on my way after a false start or two. The purple spatula wasn’t really the best thing to use to get the chunks to the bottom of the bowl. And that cleaver really needs sharpening, so I switched it out for a serated knife.

After about 3 minutes:

Voila! Banana 'Ice cream'

There you have it! It’s creamy and good. Now, it doesn’t taste exactly like ice cream. It doesn’t have dairy or added sugar(though I did spritz a little vanilla extract in there to get the mixture ‘moving’. But, the consistency is very close to ice cream, or more like frozen yogurt. If you love banana smoothies, you’ll love this. As per the website, I’m sure you can add other frozen fruits and flavorings for variety, and I’ll probably do that in the future. For now, I’m plotting a big banana purchase in the near future. 😉

TTFN.

2 comments on “Friday Goodness

  1. bezzie says:

    Dude, you lost me on the saga of the blender and processor there. I think I need a diagram!!

    But that looks good!!!!!

  2. cici says:

    thanks for the site.. I will check them out. This looks so delicious? I prefer yogurt or sorbet over ice cream?

Leave a Reply

