Thought Soup.

This is just a slapdash post with everything that’s been on my mind without any particular order.

In a recent post I mentioned how I’d probably have to spin my own yarn to get a yarn I can use for a sweater. Well, I’m on my way. I think. I’ve never been inclined to join the Tour De Fleece, or NaNoWriMo or the knitting or spinning Olympics. I’ve toyed with Lacevember and Socktober though, with miserable results.

This time, though, I’m hoping I can keep with the flow to get the FO I want. I regret being cheap with each yarn purchase instead of saving it all for sweater-quantities. I’ve learned that when it comes to Yarn/Fiber is better to have more than you need than to find yourself woefully short.

Sometime last year I got a huge amount of undyed combed wool through a friend. 5 lbs of huge. Half is Superwash wool and the other is not. This latter half is what I’m using:

co-op wool

I’m loving spinning this stuff. It’s turning out to be a very easy, smooth spin. I managed to fill a bobbin very quickly and I’m about halfway through the second one:

1 bobbin down...

This will be the first time I spin yarn for a project bigger than a hat or pair of socks. I tried doing it for a shawl, and for some reason that didn’t work out at all. I’m sure I’ll give it another shot one day.

Also, this weekend(Yesterday and Today!) is the Garden State Sheep and Wool festival and I missed it! Ack! Gah! I went in 2007 and it was a nice deal. I know I won’t make it to Rhinebeck(I didn’t in 2007 either) and would have liked to think I could do one, one year and the other the next. And damn if it didn’t sail by me this time. Sigh. I hope all my spinning/knitting/crocheting/weaving friends who did go/are going have a good time!

And hey, new Knitty!! I already love at least 1/3 of the projects in there. That hasn’t happened in quite some time. I can’t decide which project I want most: Bel, Mi Escuelita, Margot, Hatheel, or Riverbanks! And upon second glance I’m thinking I might add Kernel to the list too! Sigh. Off-hand I’m thinking maybe I can use what I’m spinning for Margot or Bel for myself but I really need to get on the ball for a Mi Escuelita for the girl beanlets because this year Fall came in really quick.

Well, back to the spinning and planning of dinner.

TTFN!

3 comments on “Thought Soup.

  1. Ajastoy says:

    I know I wanted to go to Garden State S&W too,, You know Jesh was there this year with her spindles? I didnt want to do that drive myself again to come home exhausted and non-functioning. No Rhinebeck this year? 😦 Anyway I can convince you?

  2. Chante says:

    I thought about goign tot he Garden State Wool Festival but I’m broke as a joke and its no fun window shopping at a fiber fest so I opted out. I’m going to try to go to Rhinebeck this year but if I don’t you and I can have Rhinebeck party here in the city.

    I’m also so jealous of how big your bobbins are. I don’t think my Victoria can hold that much wool. And make sure you join the Sheep to Whatever group on Ravelry if you’re not already a member. Its great inspiration.

  3. Necia says:

    Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy, we’re all spinning! I love it! What color you’re going to dye? I need to desperately clean my sewing room, but I think I wanna go home and spin some more.

Leave a Reply

