I call Do-Overs!!

Why? Because.

Argh!

Silly me didn’t soak the yarn before dyeing AND I made the ties too tight to secure the yarn and blammo! No dye under the ties. I’m going for a redo anyway because some skeins are way darker than others. So, the darker ones will just get handpainting on the spots that need it, while the lighter ones will have their ties replaced/shifted so the whole thing can be done over. This is turning out to be more work than I thought!

In other spinning news, I’ve finished 8 oz total of some BFL I got from HelloYarn a long time ago.
Two-ply BFL

I actually have another lb of undyed ‘white’ fiber and I’m thinking of spinning the rest of it. It seems the amount I have so far isn’t going to be enough for any of the colorwork mitten projects I have in mind. I’m thinking about maybe dyeing some of the natural(but this time I’ll dye the fiber first!) to have a third color to work with; at this late stage in the game I’m in no position to seek out more black BFL. Or.. I have some black Merino I could use. Yeah that might be the ticket. We’ll just have to see.

TTFN

3 comments on “I call Do-Overs!!

  1. Necia says:

    Which mittens are you going to do?

  2. Necia says:

    Dag, I wasn’t finished yet. Are you going to keep it in the HY family and do Squirrels in Oak, or the Pirate mittens?

  3. bezzie says:

    I think it’s kinda pretty. But you’re pretty zoomed in. I’ll bet it doesn’t look that good when you zoom out. I think anyone’s that dyed has done that!

Leave a Reply

