Older/The Journey Continues

Another year has gone by. I’m older. Unsure if I feel it or not. Another year of crafting. Has it really been 5 years since I fully got into knitting? I was digging in a bucket of handknit socks to pair them up before washing(I misplace socks like you wouldn’t believe!), and came across the very first pair I knit. They look almost brand new. You would never know they’re 5 years old! If someone had told me back in 2003 I would be a knitter/spinner in 2009 I’d have laughed. Time changes people.

Seriously I didn’t do much thinking on my birthday. I got some serious alone time(well, the kids being in school helped), and got to work on this:

Heather hoodie vest back

This is the back of the Heather Hoodie Vest from the Fall ’09 Knitscene. I’d wanted to knit this sweater vest ever since I picked up the magazine last month, but the yarn I was using didn’t suit it at all. When I’d spun this yarn I was hoping to use it for one of the sweaters in the Fall ’09 Knitty but the gauge just didn’t work out. Better luck next time.

I had originally thought the yarn needed over-dyeing but laziness got the best of me and I decided to go ahead and knit with it. So far I like it, but I might still have to do something because one or two of the balls is somewhat lighter in color. Seeing as this is a cabled item the last thing I want to do is alternate from two different balls. I haven’t ruled out over-dyeing the finished garment, though.

As it stands I’m well past halfway up the back and just now into my second ball of handspun. Wow this stuff lasts and lasts! I think I’m gonna make it! I can’t remember being this excited about a knitting project. In fact, I’m off to put a few more rows on this baby!

TTFN!

7 comments on “Older/The Journey Continues

  1. I totally love how the pink is knitting up in that sweater. It’s just gorgeous. Someday I’d like to spin that evenly! And… Happy Birthday!!! You’re not another year older, you’re just another year wiser.

  2. bezzie says:

    I seriously didn’t think that was handspun–I had to read the paragraph again! It just clicks with that pattern!

  3. cici says:

    What an awesome accomplishment? Congratulations…I wanna be just like you when I grow up. Happy Belated Birthday too!

  4. Guro says:

    Happy beleated birthday! Hope it was a great one! The wip looks very promising!

  5. Chante says:

    Happy Belated Birthday! My computers on the fritz right now which is really driving me crazy.

  6. cici says:

    Okay Lady.. you’ve been tagged go to my blog to see what for?

  7. Oiyi says:

    Time alone to knit sounds awesome! I hope you get a lot done.

Leave a Reply

