Birthday Goodies and WIP progress

Pretty Birthday Wrapping

Over the past 5 years I’ve come to know some pretty cool crafting ladies. This year, some of them got together and surprised me with some neat birthday gifts! They may have arrived late, but they’re ‘right on time’!

I guess it’s true the squeaky wheel gets the oil, because I received:

Birthday goodies!!

Two extra Fricke bobbins and a handmade scissors case from Chateau Designs.

I had to show the kids the scissors case immediately, so they’d get the idea. Do NOT FREAKING TOUCH. I think I need another cork board to hang it from. Then I’m going to get my scissors sharpened and in they go!! YAY! 😀

The bobbins, I can’t wait to fill up. My spinning startitis always got the best of me and then I’d never have enough bobbins to ply with after I spun singles to my heart’s content. Now, I do. 😉 Of course, I have to wait. I’m in the middle of the second front section of the Heather Hoodie Vest and plugging along nicely. It appears, though, that I’ll definitely have to add some commercial yarn somewhere in this project. I’m still deciding if I’ll forgo the hood altogether to make sure I get the button band out of the yarn, or, do the hood with whatever I have left and use contrasting commercial yarn for the button band and sleeve ribbing. (I just realized there aren’t really sleeves per se, just ribbing straight off the armholes. Interesting.)

I’ve already got it into my head that if I’m going to go for contrasting yarn I might as well do full sleeves. Then, at least, I can wear the hoodie as a true sweater, until it gets too cold and I need a real coat. * Ideas swirling around my head*

I’m off to fight off my spinning startitis and work on the hoodie!!

2 comments on “Birthday Goodies and WIP progress

  1. bezzie says:

    Awww! That’s sweet! So far the boy knows not to touch my Ginghers!

  2. Laura says:

    🙂 I hope you didn’t get the scissors sharpened after all. I wanted to tell you not to in gchat the other day, but I didn’t want to spoil your other surprise. I just HOPED that you wouldn’t rush out to do the sharpening.

    Happy Belated Birthday!

Leave a Reply

