Goings-on(or, Happy New Year!)

Back in the saddle again. It’s another new year upon us. It seems like I was saying this sort of thing about 2009, just yesterday. Onward, and upward.

Last post I mentioned a simple biscuit recipe I found through a friend. But something was missing, and I decided they needed to be buttermilk biscuits instead. I looked for an easy buttermilk recipe and thought I had everything I needed. Turns out the store down the road doesn’t stock buttermilk(what?!?!), and I hadn’t paid clear attention to the ingredients list, because it also called for self-rising flour and I don’t keep that in the house. But Google IS my friend(or at least is willing to help) and I was able to find recipes for subbing for these ingredients.

Who knew all you had to do, to approximate buttermilk was to add an acid to regular milk? Well, I wouldn’t drink it like that(but then I don’t drink buttermilk straight either), but it worked well enough. Once I got everything figured out I basically combined the two recipes and was on my way. The result? They were a hit! Of course, they were such a hit, they were gone in a flash and I have no photographic evidence. Well, I have two left but who wants a pic of two lonely biscuits?

In crafting, here’s the last FO of 2009.
Little Mittens

Finally made those matching mittens I was supposed to make for littlest Beanlet. She loves them! Everyone else is pretty much good with handwear for the winter, except Mr. Beanknit who hates gloves and won’t wear them. I’m now on the fence about which colorwork mitten pattern I want to use for my next pair of handwear. I’m so used to working with prescribed amounts of commercial yarns, and combined with the issue of my handspuns not always being the weight I think they are… I’m headed for sure insanity when it comes to substituting yarns. We’ll have to see how that goes.

As for WIPs, I’ve got a Basic Black(Ravelry link) for big girl going now. Had a temporary issue with the shoulder shaping of the front, but I’m just gonna go with my gut on this. There’s so many projects I want to start, like Citron and a totebag from Yarngeek’s first sewing tutorial, but I have a stack of stuff I keep saying I’ll finish. Procrastination is sooooo easy when you only have two hands, huh? 😉

TTFN.

One comment on “Goings-on(or, Happy New Year!)

  1. cici says:

    I am sure those 2 biscuits are long gone by now. The mitts are cute. I need to make some. Like you I have so many projects to finish. I am not good at doing more than 2 projects at a time. I want to finish some before I start any new ones. I do have quite a to make list.
    When I made red velvet cake I used the substitute version of the vinegar. It turned out great. I find the hardest thing for me is assigning weights to yarn

Leave a Reply

