Overcoming Sewing Fears

I’m always on the internet looking for sewing inspiration. I’m finding it, too. Blogs aplenty showcase home-sewn fashions, accessories, and decor. And each time I see something I really like, I say to myself, “I’m going to try that!”. Sometimes I actually get the materials/supplies. And then, I blank out. I don’t know WHAT to do. It drives me bananas seeing others sew these awesome outfits and stuff, and I can’t seem to get my ass in gear. And I think I know what it is. Fear.

Fear of messing up lovely fabric. I know, I know. The solution to that would be to just get a crapload of fabric I don’t really care for and work the pattern with that FIRST. But believe it or not, it’s so hard to see any fabric as something I don’t really ‘care for’. Oh sure, there’s prints and such that I wouldn’t be caught dead wearing, but I’m thinking the issue with this is.. Two different fabrics won’t drape the same, so making a muslin with a cheap fabric might lull me into thinking I’ve done the right thing. Then when I use the ‘real’ fabric, everything goes wonky and Oh SHIT! I spent all that money. I’m afraid I’ll be relegated to wearing my muslins. (To be fair, I’ve seen some really nice ‘muslins’ out there, so someone’s getting it right the FIRST TIME).

Sigh. All I ever heard growing up was, ‘if it looks to good to be true, it probably is. And so I take that into my sewing psyche. Yeah the dress LOOKED simple and blammo! I farked it up. Like that “One Seam Convertible Dress” I made a mess of about 3 years ago. I’m half crazy enough to try that again with a fabric I’ll WEAR in the street. But messing that up really stung me. I almost didn’t want to sew again after that debacle.

Yet, I kept at it, and came forward to my favorite pairs of pajama/lounge pants, and the two awesome graduation gowns I made the girl Beanlets. We got a lot of compliments on those dresses; they were my proudest creations. But with the beginning of a new year, I’m starting to get afraid again. I’ve got fabrics and patterns and ideas calling out to me and I hide. Combine a fear of screwing up with procrastination and it’s a wonder I get anything done!

But I’m working on it day by day, and I hope I can create things I’ll be excited to share(and wear!)

TTFN

3 comments on “Overcoming Sewing Fears

  1. bezzie says:

    I think the type of machine you have helps too. Usually I’m all about cheap tools (I think those Knit Pick interchangable sets are expensive!) but you need a somewhat decent machine to conquer sewing.

    Those graduation gowns are amazing!

  2. nashe says:

    i feel the same way ! but let’s get out of our own way ! Im going to make my damn needle holder !

  3. nashe says:

    thanks for the pep talk .. yes .. i found fabric , so it’s a go ! wanna do this together ? im not really using a pattern , just flowing with it …it will get your juices flowing too ! im starting this week end ….and ??????

Leave a Reply

