I Can Sewz Needle Roll?

I Can!
My first Needle Roll!

I finally made something without consulting/following a pattern. I just went with what I remembered from viewing various other needle roll patterns on the internet. There were some lessons learned and I left out a step(I was thinking of putting in a layer of batting and forgot), but overall it was a simple process. I also forgot about a top flap, but with the roll closed I didn’t experience any danger of the needles falling out. This isn’t something I planned on taking places with me so that doesn’t really matter, but for next time I will remember to incorporate that feature.

DPN roll close-up

Another oops was that I should have used a doubled over piece of fabric for the pockets. Next time I also plan to sew the pocket seams from bottom to top and back again, to eliminate the thread ends sticking out. Finally I should have gone very slowly to keep the lines straighter. In a hurry, that’s me.

All rolled up

All in all, not a bad deal from stash fabric and trim. I actually sewed two fat quarters together to get the outer fabric and pocket section but wound up cutting a lot off. I couldn’t seem to wrap my head about how long the roll needed to be. That alone has me a bit worried about the roll for my circs. Perhaps I should come up with something else. I also have crochet hooks to get in order but that should be much easier.

7 comments on “I Can Sewz Needle Roll?

  1. Theresa says:

    I love it! Very nicely done. šŸ™‚

  2. It’s great for a first attempt! And I love the colors you used.

  3. cici says:

    Looks great and so practical? The fabric is beautiful.

  4. bezzie says:

    Nice!!! I want to try one this weekend!

  5. Nancy says:

    Very nicely done,,,, the colors are wonderful! That is something I have to do/get for myself one of these days,,, doublepoints abound by me!

  6. patrice says:

    Cute! I need to make one for myself

Leave a Reply

