More Kwik Sew-ing (and sweater blocking)

Last night I started, and today I finished Kwik Sew 3710. It’s another pattern I’ve had simmering in my stash for a long time. It’s a dressy-casual type of dress but I used some lounge wear knit fabric I got at the Save-A-Thon.

Kwik Sew 3710

This was a quick project. I got to use my serger for the majority of it, only referring to the sewing machine to do bust darts(which again I don’t think I need). Over all I had fun with this and I have more fabric like it in hot pink so I’ll make another. This one is going to be a house dress. I goofed and didn’t think about the big line of mashed up flowers going down the middle of the fabric when I cut out the pattern. Oops. Also, the armhole and neck are WAY too big and I need a shirt under this. I’m thinking it was a bad choice of fabric for this particular design. There’s too much stretch. I’m thinking when I do it again, I’ll use one of the smaller band sizes

I also need to work on understanding the tensioning on the serger. I got a lettuce edge effect on the bottom of this, which I like, but wasn’t really the intended effect. It was supposed to be topstitched or blind hemmed. The serger can actually blind hem, but I was desperate to get this finished and put it on. I guess that means I need to work on my PATIENCE too. šŸ˜‰

For the most part, I enjoy the simplicity of Kwik Sew patterns but I’m beginning to not like their approach to plus-size sewing. While I fully understand that getting your clothes to look right means working on getting the best fit, it still irks me how designers seem to think all round women are TALL. I am so NOT tall. 3710 comes with two views. I was thinking of view B until I opened the pattern and saw how long view A was. Yeah, exactly. I wound up using the armhole and neck lines from B but the length of A. (B is sleeveless which is what I wanted.) So, while I like Kwik Sew’s watered down techniques I’m going to have to go with something a bit more fitted. Something more along the lines of these:

In the queue

Joann’s had a sale on Simplicity patterns. For $.99 I couldn’t pass it up. These bad boys usually go for $15 so this was a deal even if they don’t work out. But I’m hoping they do. It’ll be a learning experience, that’s for sure. šŸ™‚

As for knitting, I’ve finished the pieces for Basic Black and it’s on the blocking board as I type this:

Basic Black-on the blocking board

forgive my half-ass blocking. I know Big Beanlet will be glad it’s done. I’m a little upset with myself for taking so long with it. I just have been preferring to sew more than anything. And with the Spring and Summer coming I’ll probably let knitting go by the wayside again this year. It’s easy to do when you see how much faster a sewn garment is compared to a knit(or crochet!) one.

This morning I washed some lace edge fabric for kitchen curtains. It’s a thin cotton/poly blend(I think?) and it’s probably already dry. All I need to do is cut the width I need and sew up the sides and make a casing. No pattern needed. I think I hear it calling me. šŸ˜‰

TTFN

3 comments on “More Kwik Sew-ing (and sweater blocking)

  1. I like how your house dress turned out. I thought the ruffled hem was intentional because it looks so cute. šŸ™‚

  2. Oiyi says:

    Thank you for the birthday wishes!

    I wish I had time to pull out my sewing machine to learn to sew some clothes.

  3. Margot says:

    I like 3893, you’re making me want to sew! I can never find the clothes I like in the stores (or if I do, they’re too spendy)

    Like I have time for another craft. humph.

Leave a Reply

