Homemade Goodness

I got wind of a granola recipe from a friend and was going to prepare it, until I realized I preferred my granola in bars. It’s nice sprinkled and mixed in with oatmeal but if I’m going to eat it by itself I’d rather have it in one piece. Enter the granola bar. I looked around for a recipe and found this one by Alton Brown.

Mmmmm:

Home made granola bars

This is after attempting to cut them. I should have tried cutting them while they were still a little warm, instead of waiting til they were cool, as per the recipe. One change I made was to use cranberries instead of the mixture of apricots, blueberries or cherries originally called for. Also, I didn’t have a 9×9 pan so I had to use my 8×8 instead; no biggie there. I do wish I had a ‘half-sheet’ because scooping the oat mixture into the pot on the stove was a little wonky. I got 95% of it into the pot with no problems so I’m not complaining.

Overall, it’s a good snack recipe and it was very easy to do. Being accustomed to store-bought packaged ‘granola’ bars, I had to get used to the texture of these and the obvious wheat germ taste. After a few bites, it grew on me and I don’t think I’ll ever go back to prepackaged. Even littlest Beanlet complimented the taste. I bet the kids won’t mind their oatmeal now. 😉

TTFN!

2 comments on “Homemade Goodness

  1. bezzie says:

    Mmm…that looks good. And I like the cranberry sub. Cheaper than all that other fruit!

Leave a Reply

