Simplicity 2618 (view A)

008009010

I love this shirt!! It was my first time working with pleats in a knit fabric. The slipping and sliding made things a bit difficult but I got it under control. I do know that hemming slippery knits and fusing interfacing to curved pieces can be a little crazy-making.

As usual I traced the pattern pieces onto my trusty roll of tracing paper to preserve the original pattern. There was some wonky-ness with getting the facing to act right but I kind of fixed that with topstitching. I think next time I will leave more of a seam allowance(I wasn’t on target with the 5/8″ I was allowed) so I’ll have something to grab when it comes to tacking down the facing per the instructions. That’s where the topstitching came in. Not doing it right causes the front center to ‘lip out’ a bit, but hubby doesn’t mind because he gets the cleavage shot. πŸ˜‰

I have another print of this type of fabric and I can’t wait to make 2618 with that.

I got some black stretch microfiber/cotton blend fabric to make a nice pair of pants to go with the tops, and I scored this:

Wool/Rayon blend

a wool/rayon/lycra blend at the Paron Fabrics Half Price room!! I can’t wait to make these into some spring slacks! πŸ™‚

Sadly I haven’t been knitting at all. I need to make a hat for boy to go with the Irish Hiking Scarf I finally finished for him. And Big Girl’s Basic Black just needs button band and buttons and it’s good to go. But I sooooo would rather just sit at my serger and machine and sew the day away. Sigh.

It’s going to be a snow day tomorrow(Wednesday) so I’ll stay in and do just that. As well as get in some baking(brownies!) and chili con carne.. Mmmm

Happy Crafting!

TTFN

8 comments on “Simplicity 2618 (view A)

  1. Margot says:

    Wow, you whipped that out fast! It looks fabulous.

    Love the color, but then I’m a sucker for orange. Which thread did you end up using? Looks like the orange that blends in. I like it that way, a contrasting color would have been too busy with that print, I think.

  2. Adrienne says:

    YAY! congrats on a successful top!

  3. The shirt turned out great and looks so good on you! You are a brave woman to tackle knits…

  4. bezzie says:

    I’m very impressed!!! I tried a knit top this weekend and gave up. Too much hair tearing!

  5. Chante says:

    Great job on the shirt. Who cares if you haven’t been knitting, you made somethign wearable and that counts for something.

  6. nashe says:

    DEWING IT GIRL !!!

  7. Oiyi says:

    Great job on the pleats!

  8. spin says:

    LOVE the top!

    Also LOVE your hair!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

