Weekend WIP and FO

A second set of spiral potholders has emerged!!

Done!

Before I’d even finished that first set I was already contemplating a second. And they are done. Now what to do with all those leftover balls of yarn? Why, pull out some other colors you have laying around and make a rainbow!

A fuller rainbow

And then sit there and wonder what in the hill street blues you’re going to do with that! Well, what goes better with a set of potholders than an apron!

Never in my wildest dreams did I think I’d knit/crochet an apron but there it is:

1/2 way there

Well, there half of it is. Though, as of this writing I’ve since finished the red, went on to fuschia and am currently on purple. After blue it’s on to the greens and I’m done. Yes I know it’s not in the proper spectral order, but I like it.

This apron (Ravelry link!) is a single crochet deal. Usually I’d rather do a double crochet or even triple, but to conserve yarn, single it is. I figured I could gain height/length by striping with more colors, than doing a solid version a la the pattern. So I get to use up leftovers and get a pretty apron in the process! I’m enjoying the ride as the stripes build row by row. In fact, slowing down and enjoying the process(and hopefully learning things) is something I hope to do with all my crafts. I’m usually in a rush for the finished object.

I guess I’ve taken the ‘slow down’ approach a bit too far, as I’ve got other WIPS that sorely need attention. I’m always saying I’ll get to them and never do. It’s pathetic, I tell you. 😉 Can’t make any promises but hopefully with the warm weather coming up I can start wearing the clothes I’ve been making, and showing them off. 😉

TTFN!

2 comments on “Weekend WIP and FO

  1. Those are so pretty! Can’t wait to see the finished apron!

  2. Chante says:

    I luv the idea of an apron. I’m currently waiting for the sugar and cream to go on sale at Michaels so I can stock up. Great way to use up those leftovers.

Leave a Reply

