It's been 14 years…

Love

…since Mr. BeanKnit and I said, “I do!”.  We’ve grown(oh BOY have we grown 😉 ) into our roles as husband and wife, and mother and father, but we still find time to share a laugh, cuss politics(I’m more  Democrat, he’s… not), giggle with and beam at our beautiful children, and just enjoy life as a whole.

His work schedule can be trying, but I can count on him to bring in the treats(which is why we’ve ‘grown’); when he comes home late at night, I usually wake sometime after he’s fallen asleep, to find an arm lovingly wrapped around me.

I met Frank in a way most people were NOT meeting mates back in the mid-late 90s: America Online. At the time, uploading photographs to the internet was not a simple, everyday thing. So, we were chatting for several months without actually having seen each other. We decided to meet one evening(no I was not crazy; I took a friend with me), and it turned out to have been 2 years to the day our first  child would be born!  It went something like this:

Me: Ok, he said he was wearing blue jeans and a white Carhartt sweatshirt.

Friend: Ooh I think that’s him coming up the block now. Yep, dark-hair, mustache and goatee,  blue jeans and white sweatshirt. That’s him!

Me: (hiding in store doorway) Are you serious? That’s not the guy I saw on the show! #* OMG.

Friend: *calls his name*

Mr. BeanKnit: *looks over at my friend and walks in our direction*

Me: *peeks out*: Hi. 🙂

Mr. BeanKnit(to me):  I see you hiding over there :).

Friend: You might as well come out, cause your cover is blown. And it’s cold out here, and I’m hungry so let’s move.

We had a fun night full of conversation, observation(there’s always that in the Village), food and laughter. Soon we began dating seriously and he proposed to me on Valentine’s Day the next year.

#*Hubby had a thing for being in the audience at the various talk shows of the day. He’d been in the audience at a particular Ricki Lake show and I had to work the day it aired so I had to tape it. There turned out to have been another man in clothing similar to what he said he was wearing and I mistakenly thought he was THAT guy. Oops. Doesn’t matter, he’s still cute. 😉  And he’s still mine.

Happy Anniversary, my love. 🙂

Back Then...

5 comments on “It's been 14 years…

  1. Nancy says:

    14 years! No mean feat in this day and age!!!

    HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!

  2. Congrats! You’re both adorable and it’s so good to see how happy you are together!

  3. bezzie says:

    Awwww! I love that story! Happy Anniversary!

  4. Margot says:

    Love, love, love!!

    Thanks for sharing this glimpse of your life and partnership with Frank. Here’s to many more happy years together. *clink*

  5. nashe says:

    WONDERFUL ! YOU GUYS LOOK GREAT AND IS THAT LIPSTICK YOUR WEARING ? ???????

Leave a Reply

