Memories of Mother – A Photographic Journey(of sorts)

It all started in 1940. Of course I wasn’t here yet so I don’t know much about anything between 1940 and my birth. But I do have a photo of mom and her sister when they were kids! I wonder if she ever thought about what the future held for her.
Mom and her sister in 1951- Mom was 10 or 11.
Mom and Aunt Roberta

Mom spent some time singing professionally before settling down and having my brother and me.

This is where I..

Both my mom and my aunt were part of this group. I am not sure if at this time they were known as The Jades, or The Rubies. There were two incarnations of the group, with my mom singing in both of them and they recorded several songs. After much research,(and there is pretty much nothing out there about them), I have learned that songs I thought were ‘theirs’, really weren’t. Bummer.

Eventually mom began working for the USPS. She worked there 26 years, including the first 19 years of my life. I remember fondly the times my godmother(she worked there too) would come over and all day long you’d hear them cussin’ about the PO. (I had to stop and giggle when I wrote that sentence!) But work she did.

Mom at work

Even on her worst day, mom was always styling. My kids laugh at my clothes, but one day the girls will dress just like I do. πŸ˜‰ I know this because I used to always go in mom’s closet for the good stuff, even as a teenager. What teen do YOU know that wants to wear her mom’s stuff?? Exactly.

There were times mom and I clashed about things. But she knew when I needed encouragement and a helping hand.

Pool at the Best Western Orlando

Of course I didn’t appreciate it half the time, cause after that photo was taken, I just wanted to do my own thing and damn near drowned.

And who says moms don’t enjoy watching their kids ‘squabble’? Rather than stop the ‘fight’, she just snapped a photo.

Me and my bro

Hee. Now I think I know where I get my sense of humor from, too. πŸ˜€

All aboard! Amtrak!

There she was again, pushing me to do the ‘impossible’.(We took the train down to Disneyworld and I HATED walking between the cars. But I eventually just got over it and was a pro at it by the time we got back home. If I ever take Amtrak again, though, I am bringing my OWN food!)

Speaking of food:

Yay! We're going on a picnic!

Another of my fondest memories was ‘catching’ mom preparing food for picnics. Sandwiches, cakes, fried chicken, rice and beans. And PUNCH! πŸ˜€

Try as I might I can’t even come close to being the mom she was. Some days I don’t know whether to laugh or cry when I find myself acting like her. But I guess it was inevitable. Although mom is gone, and I still have some issues to work out about my childhood, perhaps my own kids can look back at theirs with memories they deem worthy of sharing with their loved ones and friends.

Happy Mothers Day!!!!

5 comments on “Memories of Mother – A Photographic Journey(of sorts)

  1. Nancy says:

    Happy Mom’s Day to you too!

  2. Peri says:

    Happy Mothers Day – we had ours in March.

    I think this is a really great blog post. I really enjoyed the words and pictures – thank you so much for sharing them. You Mum sounds like she was a good Mum.

  3. Zonda says:

    Great post! Thanks for sharing! I often too find myself acting like my mom, I feel the same way as you, laugh or cry… Happy Mother’s Day!

  4. Saffron says:

    They look like photos from my own albums. Thanks so much for sharing them!!!

  5. bezzie says:

    Great post! Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

