Aww.. Bye, Summer; Friendship: The gift that keeps on giving; Paying Attention

Friendship
The Summer is almost over. Boooo hissss. It was a bit of a scorcher but I dislike the cold so I’ll take what I can get. I had lots of fun swimming with the family and can’t wait til the Summer comes around again.

But with the cooler weather comes more opportunities to indulge in warm drinks like tea. (You knew that was coming, didn’t you? πŸ˜‰ ) What better way to slide into Fall with some pretty, new tea acessories? A dear friend I met some 10 years ago has been reading the blog and decided to RAOK me some tea cups!! πŸ™‚ The one in the picture above pretty much sums up how I’m feeling right about now. (Click through the photo for a better shot of the cup design!)

And the other:

2nd pretty cup

There are also some pieces which I thought were silver but are actually silver PLATED. At first I thought I was looking at tarnish but in fact the plating is coming loose in some spots. I’m not sure how to proceed with those. If you have any ideas, just leave them in the comment section.

In the knitting area, let me just say, ” watch that third step, it’s a doozy!” πŸ˜‰
There are 6 repeats of the first chart pattern in the Fall/ Winter Season Shawl. A few rows less than halfway through the 5th repeat I start to see the yarn is looking a little low and I start to panic. After a few moments of “OH NO! WTF?” I look at the pattern photo and realize that this color band is thinner than the others. After consulting the pattern instructions more closely I realize I’m only supposed to do the first half of the chart in that color and then add in the next color(where it’s one strand of each color) and finish the chart. Whew. For a minute there I thought I was going to have to put the project on hold while waiting for more yarn. Which ultimately means, I need to learn to pay attention.

I actually haven’t done anything with the shawl since I made that discovery, what with getting the last of the Summer out and prepping for the start of school. Ahh the insanity of school shopping. Bring it on!

TTFN

One comment on “Aww.. Bye, Summer; Friendship: The gift that keeps on giving; Paying Attention

  1. Oiyi says:

    Hurray for tea time! That is another thing I am looking forward to for Fall. My morning cup of tea has been sitting around each morning because it’s too hot.

Leave a Reply

