Cookie Quickie

The other day I did a fall cleaning reorganization of the kitchen cabinets and decided it was time to make cookies again.

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

Here be cookies! More precisely, Chocolate Chip Oatmeal cookies. I prefer Oatmeal Raisin, but since Boy Beanlet cannot eat raisins and the other Beanlets wanted Chocolate Chip, I compromised with this recipe.

It was the usual choco-chip recipe but with added slow-cook oats. The taste is not quite the combination of oatmeal-raisin and choco chip that I was hoping for, but the texture is interesting enough to make me want to bake these again. One thing I notice about these types of cookies though, is that they’re never as dark as commercial brand cookies. I’m guessing that has a lot do with all the processing involved in making them. If that’s the case, I’ll gladly take these don’t-look-done over those.

The kids, of course, can’t wait to get their little hands on them. That’s definitely a good sign. 🙂

5 comments on “Cookie Quickie

  1. spin says:

    Those look goooooood!
    I rather like the lighter cookies compared to the dark bought ones. The bought ones are usually always on the dry side I think… I like my cookies gooooy 😀

  2. bezzie says:

    Oh man give me chocolate chips in my oatmeal cookies over raisins any day! Those look delish!

  3. Necia says:

    Yummy! Are you aware of the bread trick to keep cookies just baked soft? If not, shout me out!

  4. kimkrafty says:

    They look delicious. They wouldn’t last for very long at my house.

Leave a Reply

