Slow Start

Distractions
Sewing ‘Room’
But a start nonetheless. It’s taken me longer than I’d hoped to get my sewing space just the way I want it. I decided and then changed my mind about painting the walls. I have yet to finish the table. I’d also like a pegboard to go on the wall so I can store my thread on it. Nothing too big, but something that holds more than my current thread holder can accomodate.

What was I thinking?

Today was a rough start too. Wound up scrapping a project. I’ve been thinking about making myself a shower cap since last year when I bought one in the store, and the damn thing wouldn’t fit over my locs. I need one of those jumbo ones. I said, “Hell, with some vinyl I can MAKE one!”, and hit Joann’s to find some vinyl. Well today was the day to finally do it. I traced a circle using my biggest pizza pan and cut it out. OMG the disaster that ensued. Let’s just say it led to much cussing and mumbling. I think the vinyl was too thick and trying to sew a straight casing on a curved item is well, crazymaking. The safety pin I used to feed the elastic through got irreversibly stuck and I just chucked the whole thing in the trashbin. Got dammit. RiteAid, here I come.

Knitting/Yarn

Yeah yeah yeah. I know. I haven’t ripped Basic Black yet. I’m gonna. But I’m consumed by a sick urge to purchase more allotments of sweater-quantities of yarn. It’ll pass. In the meantime I’ve been eyeing Bartlett Yarns(Thanks Val!) but I keep forgetting to call them and ask what kind of shipping carrier they use. If it’s UPS, forget it! I’d spin a sweater’s worth again, but that Heather Hoodie debacle has me sort of gun-shy right now. I’m thinking next time I’ll only use two plies so I can yield more yardage and not run out.

Podcasting

Yes, you read that right. I’ve got a bunch of things to say and I don’t want to bore you all with endless posts. So I’m thinking about a way to incorporate podcasting back into my ‘net life. I found a new podcasting host but can’t seem to get my old RSS feed moved over to it, so I’m gonna start fresh. And of course, it’ll be, Adrift in Crafts. Link coming soon.

That’s about it for now. Just breezin’ through.

TTFN!

3 comments on “Slow Start

  1. nasheikah says:

    Yay for you!
    It must be nice though ~~~ to have some where that your crafts can call home ….
    It will be lovely once done…cant wait to see it all purty and stuff !!!
    and yes, podcasting is wonderful .. do It again !!!
    I think that is how we met online? thru your podcast ? right ?
    Anyways U go, girl …I cant wait to sit back and listen to your crafty talks ..
    Peace and luv

    ladyBean

  2. kimkrafty says:

    I’ll be looking for the podcast link.

    I really need make a place for my scapbooking supplies. Maybe if I set them up nicely I would actually work on something!

  3. Oiyi says:

    I think your sewing room is off to a good start. It’s nice to have an area dedicated to your crafts.

Leave a Reply

