Ooh I’ve been bad.

Instead of knitting, sewing, crocheting and getting the next podcast episode together I’ve been playing with my new toy:

ISO test

No, I didn’t get a new cat; that’s Cookie. What you’re looking at is the difference in photographs taken with my new dSLR. 😉 An Early V-day gift from Mr. Beanknits. (Shamelessly I’m working on him for our Anniversary or Mother’s Day.) Coughlenseshackingcoughexternalflashcough.

So far I only have the kit lens that came with the camera but it’s working out really well. I kept wanting to improve the quality and have more control over my photographs. I know, I know, some crafters out there get great photos with their point-and-shoots. My long-standing desire to ‘go there’ with my photography, coupled with hubby’s frequently wanting to take the P&S with him made me go ahead and get a dSLR. That and a nice sale. 😉

There’s a deep learning curve with this type of camera but I’m up for it. One exposure at a time. Can’t wait to snap some ‘real’ pics of WIPs and FOs. I just have to get used to the lens cap:

There's always one of these...

Oopsie!

TTFN

3 comments on “Ooh I’ve been bad.

  1. bezzie says:

    Very nice!! I’m determined to just make a go of it w/my lame P&S…if only we’d get natural light back! Ha ha!

  2. Saffron says:

    “Coughlenseshackingcoughexternalflashcough.” LOL! I know what you mean! 🙂 Congrats on your new camera! 🙂 I highly suggest a 50mm lens to start with. I have a Canon and got the 1.4 50mm. They are generally the ‘cheapest’ (I think I got mine for about $90) but fast … good in low light. 🙂 Have fun!

  3. Oiyi says:

    Congrats on the new camera! New toys are exciting.

Leave a Reply

