As Usual, Random

That’s where my head’s been lately: just all over the place! And would you believe I actually sewed something? *gasp*

makeup pouch outside up

I’ve recently been getting back into ‘putting on’ my face. I’ve never been fond of foundation but I like shadow and lipsticks. What better way to carry them around than in a new makeup case?

It’s a simple, 3D-style zippered pouch and it was a snap(after I had to rip out a bad zipper choice, and undo a seaming mistake). I apparently also need to keep design placement in mind, because the butterflies are upside down. O.O

I adore the look of brocade but geez it unraveled like nobody’s business! I don’t know if it’s the quality of this low priced fabric or if brocades just do that sort of thing but was annoying. It’s a wonder there was anything left to sew. But sew I did and I’m very pleased, with the result and the pattern. I can see myself making this again, especially since the girl Beanlets whined that they wanted one too. 😉

In other crafty news the girls and I(well, mostly I) made up some pretty hollow yarn balls: Yarnballs with glitter

I tried to get cute with it and added some glitter to the glue mixture. Waste. Of. Time. You can’t even SEE the glitter. I debated getting glue that had glitter IN it already but wondered how well that would mix with the water. Though I suspect the result might have been the same: no visible glitter.

It was a mess but fun and I’d do it again if I had any real use for them. I made 9 or 10 of them and they turned out a bit bigger than they appear in the tutorial. No matter how small I tried to blow up the balloons, they only started looking round once they got too big. Sigh. Maybe it would have worked out if I used better quality(and more expensive!) balloons, but I just couldn’t see that when I would only be popping them to get them loose from the yarn when the balls were dry.

In photography(you knew that was coming, didn’t you?), I’ve been venturing out more little by little. Still trying to decide if there’s any other kind of photography I can really get into besides the macro stuff. I do like street photography, I’m just really shy and I know how people get when strangers point cameras at them. As a NYer I might know the difference between some random person snapping me because I look like a photo of me(or what I’m doing) might get them an A on their project, and when they’re watching me because they’re a perv. But not everyone does so… yeah.

I’d been wracking my brain trying to think of convenient, non-wallet-emptying places to get a good shot for a simulated tilt-shift miniature. I say simulated because the appropriate lens setup to do a REAL one would make a grown man cry. Well, at least a grown man who couldn’t afford such a lens. A few shots and Photoshop Elements tweaks later and:

'Mini' Seaport--level 2 at the mall

Not perfect but it’s a start. I need to get out more and get better at judging angles and all that good stuff. In the meantime, I leave you with this beauty:

Cheap, but pretty

TTFN!

3 comments on “As Usual, Random

  1. misspinkles says:

    did you make that??
    it’s super cute and so handy for makeup or hairpins!!

  2. bezzie says:

    Yeah I’ve had the same experience with brocade. But I might not be the right person to ask about it–I bought it uber cheap discount from fabric.com!
    Nice little pouch–I really like the butterflies!

  3. Necia says:

    Brocade, nature of the beast! The yarn balls look so cute, and totally unuseful for me, but you go! I might pull out my sewing machine and make a make up bag too. It looks good!

Leave a Reply

