Jeans Skirt is Done!

Well that didn’t take too long. But then most of the seaming was done since the skirt was literally a pair of pants before.

Jeanskirt-full on

There was a bit of seam ripping and re-seating to get the panels right, but I’m thinking I goofed somewhere because the back keeps dipping inward.

Jeanskirt- 3/4 back

And then there was the annoying back-of-the-skirt-is-higher-than-the-front problem:

Jeanskirt-side view

Sigh. Overall it was a simple job and I do plan to do this with a few other pairs of pants.

Thoughts:
I’m probably going to have to use a separate fabric for the panels. This would allow me to use a train-effect on the back section. Then it would be ‘ok’ if the back and front aren’t the same length. Perhaps I could also split open the side seams and add panels there. I’m short, so I just wouldn’t have enough jean material to use without cutting the skirt too short. There’s also the possibility of doing some patchwork for the panels as well. πŸ˜‰

One other thing that bugged me was the realization that I miss my old Trixie Singer. When I first seamed the panels(and then had to rip them out) I was using a really short stitch. I wish I had basted the seam first but my Babylock’s longest stitch isn’t really that long after all. The Singer’s longest stitch was a true ‘basting’ length. I hope my MIL is enjoying it.

Lastly, I need to stop trying to sew stuff late at night. My mind was who-knows-where and I wound up sewing the hem with the wrong color thread. I’d had the beige-ish yarn I used for detailing in the bobbin and the dark blue thread in the needle like normal, but then sewed the hem from inside. Genius, I am. πŸ˜‰ What’s done is done.

And so is the day! I had a yarn shop adventure with a knitting net-friend today and I’m beat. Details tomorrow! πŸ™‚

TTFN

5 comments on “Jeans Skirt is Done!

  1. Angie (Rav) says:

    Love it!! I’ve been considering doing the same thing to a few pairs of Kat’s jeans!

  2. spin says:

    Love it! πŸ™‚

  3. Nancy says:

    It looks great! You look great! Your pics look great! See! πŸ™‚

  4. bezzie says:

    I love it! I think no matter what, unless you’re like that .05% of the population with a flat ass, you’re gonna get a little bit o’skirt ride. I didn’t even really notice it til you pointed it out!
    I like your shoes too!

  5. Necia says:

    Yo Bezzie is crazy, and she’s right! Bwahhhhhhhhhhhhhhh! The skirt looks great! Look how long your hair is! Can you plop your head straight next time! Feel like Im talking to Cee. Lololololololololol.

Leave a Reply

