Relearning Crochet (NaBloPoMo Day 18)

hoodie 2-2

I learned to crochet as a child, but apparently I wasn’t doing it right. I let that go until my young adult years when I was expecting my first child. I crocheted most of a layette set(I wasn’t interested in the booties), and it turned out I could use only the hat and blanket. The ‘jumpsuit’ wouldn’t fit most preemies. So much for gauge, I didn’t even know what that was. Didn’t do a swatch!

Fast foward to the impending birth of my last child and I was at it again. This time I was gonna get it right! I’d re-learned crochet. I had “Crochet in Plain English”, by Maggie Righetti and a host of hooks and yarn at the ready.  I was, however still too chicken to go the whole layette route and opted for blankets and hats and sweaters.. Easy, boxy, things.  Hell, before a year was out, I was making hair scrunchies(I miss those!), bags, hats, scarves, blankets. I’d even gotten into Tunisian crochet.

But I fell into knitting almost a year later when I got frustrated that all the ‘nicer’ stuff turned out to be knitted. I went through phases of preferring one over the other and today, I can comfortably say I don’t have a favorite of the two. They are equal in my heart. They *do* have differences that I like about them(for instance, ripping  regular crochet is less stressful because you only have one live stitch at a time; no need to have a bunch of stitches secure on a needle  when you’re done ripping, like with knitting or tunisian; knitting is slower but uses less yarn, etc.), but I’ve long given up thinking one was *superior* to the other, ya know?

Well, I had to re-discover a neat crochet tip yesterday while v-chatting. Apparently I could avoid all the many ends of multi-yarn crochet projects by stitching over the loose ends on the next row of crochet. Duh! Why didn’t I think of that? I have been trying to keep the errant ends on the inside/wrong side of the work and so far, so good. But I’d only done it the last couple color changes so I still have a bunch of ends to deal with. Oh well, Live and learn.

hoodie 2

TTFN!

Leave a Reply

