WIPs are now FOs!

I recently got two WIPs off the needles: Harvest Sweater, and the Standing Stones cowl.

Harvest Sweater- Done!

 

Harvest Sweater, from TinCanKnits’ Simple Collection. I love how this fits me. And I’m extra pumped because It’s not super big like sweaters in the past have been. All these knitting years, between being big, and yet not knowing HOW big, I’d always erred on the side of caution, resulting in unnecessarily large sweaters. Now realizing I wasn’t as big as I thought I was, and deciding to actually pay attention to size and fit(yay for not having to use/buy as much yarn anymore!), I’m getting better turnouts. I’m still a little wary of sweaters only because I intend to get even smaller and don’t want things that’ll swim on me.

 

As for the knitting itself, it went really quick. Not seaming helped with that but then I re-realized two things: 1) while raglan shaping makes for easier trying-on while knitting, it seems to take forever to get where you need to be before setting aside the sleeve stitches. (BO-RING!), and 2), all those damn stitches on the needles is no good for my wrists. Or anyone’s wrists, for that matter. Which is why my next sweater is a seamed one.

Day 6:  WIP That’s the bottom of the back of Ella Rae Lace Merino Worsted Ribbed Sweater (hey, that’s what they’re calling it!) from the Knitting Fever website. Ignore that garter ridge there. That’s a… design element! 😉

 

Then there’s Andee Fagan’s Standing Stones cowl,  a recent KAL with my Knatural Purls (We’re on Facebook, check us out if you’re there too!) crew. It was a really quick knit, 3.5 skeins of Lion Brand Wool-Ease and I was done. It fits like a dream, and I look forward to wearing it. I’m not used to wearing over-the arms sort of things so this’ll be interesting, to say the least.

Standing Stones cowl-Done!

 

So, that’s pretty much it for this post. Mallow socks (pictured above with the nameless socks) are at the gusset-stage and heel-turning should begin this weekend. Or next. Or, whenever cause I’d really rather work on the sweater and read.. 

 

What’s on your hooks and needles? Let me know!

 

TTFN 

One comment on “WIPs are now FOs!

  1. Karen says:

    a) you look amazing. and b) I’m at that BORING stage of my Rhinebeck sweater. I still have about a million stitches to go before I can set aside the sleeve stitches.

Leave a Reply

