MDSW 2016

So where were we? Been a while, I know. Let’s get down to business, shall we?

 

Yes I’ve been knitting and spinning and sewing and all that good stuff. I’ll catch you up later. For now, feast your eyes on my MDSW 2016 haul!:

Marigold Jen Sock Yarn

MarigoldJen sock yarn in Superwash Merino/Nylon. My initial plan for MDSW this year was to focus on nice sock yarns. I swear most of the time all I saw was a lot of 100% wool with no kind of strength fiber whatsoever! I was trying to avoid the usual suspects as far as sock yarns go (you know who I mean), and wanted something I’d never tried before. This jumped out at me at the Hobbledehoy booth and I had to have it. I broke my no-more-variegated-sock-yarn rule with a quickness!

Merino/Angora from Oasis Farm Fiber Mill

Next up, some Merino/Angora in sportweight from Oasis Farm Fiber Mill. I’d never heard of them before and the wool/bunny fiber combo sucked me in. I couldn’t believe the price, and in the back of my head I’m wondering if there’s really any angora in this but it’s such a glorious blue and I like the handspun-like quality of the yarn so I’ll let it slide. I foresee an cowl and hat for this winter. 😉

Superwash Merino/Nylon from Hobbledehoy

Now, on to fiber! You know, when I first started going to fiber festivals back in 2006, I was primarily a knitter/crocheter. I’d learned to spindle that May and decided Rhinebeck would be a good place to get large quantities of fiber, and I was right. I’d always felt that these festivals were geared mainly to spinners with the sheer abundance of spinning fiber and fleeces available. I can honestly say I have come home with way more fiber than finished yarn from these things! I have no regrets. This year was no different. Hobbledehoy Superwash Merino/Bamboo/Nylon in  yellow I know for sure I have never spun before. I was thinking I might spin the yarn for the last pair of socks in this challenge I’m doing wherein I knit a pair of socks to fill a box in a year’s time. I guess it’s time to get the wheel in motion. No way I can spindle this in time with all the projects I’m looking to get into.

Fine Wool from Little Barn Fine Wool from Little Barn

Last but not least, I had to stop at Little Barn. I didn’t even realize they came to MDSW and didn’t think to find them last year when I went. Now I know. I’d run into a spinning friend and she had a bag full of fiber. I hightailed it over to where they were and this is the damage. 100% fine wool. I have NO idea what breed it is, and I don’t care. I love these colorways. They always dye with such rich, fun colors. And for the price, it can’t be beat. My only issue is that these colorways are one-off runs and they don’t repeat them. I wish they’d try at least! 😉

That’s it for this post. Stay tuned for WIPS and FOs!

Leave a Reply

